Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC)

Rather than being a single event, certification should be a continuous, lifelong process. The American Osteopathic Association‘s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (BOS) has mandated that each specialty certifying board implement “Osteopathic Continuous Certification” (OCC). OCC will serve as a way in which board certified DOs can maintain currency and demonstrate competency in their specialty area. The only change to the current process for maintaining osteopathic board certification is the addition of a Practice Performance Assessment component.

Diplomates with time-limited certification in the following areas are required to participate in the five components of the OCC process in order to maintain their board certification:

Primary Certification (Issued 2002 & after)
Diagnostic Radiology
Radiation Oncology

Certificate of Added Qualifications (Issued 2001 & after)
Pediatric Radiology
Vascular & Interventional Radiology
Body Imaging – Dormant CAQ
Nuclear Radiology – Dormant CAQ

Five Components of OCC

  • Component 1: Unrestricted Licensure
  • Component 2: Life Long Learning/Continuing Medical Education
  • Component 3: Cognitive Assessment
  • Component 4: Practice Performance Assessment and Improvement
  • Component 5: Continuous AOA Membership

Questions? See Osteopathic Continuous Certification FAQ

It is incumbent on diplomates to stay updated and informed on all OCC requirements. OCC updates in requirements are subject to change and will be available at all times on this website.